lazy girl shrimp

This recipe is so easy and delicious I was literally giddy upon learning it from a friend.  The lemon flavor is light enough not to mask the shrimp flavor while strong enough to perfectly compliment every bite.  While I still love them prepared blackened or fried, this dish really showcases the shrimp’s natural flavor as opposed to a more heavily seasoned dish.

Lazy Girl Shrimp

  • Shrimp (about 1/2 lb. per person; I bought them peeled and deveined, but you can start with any kind — mine were still frozen and turned out great!)
  • 1 stick (8 tbs.) butter or margarine
  • 2-3 lemons (enough to line the bottom of your baking pan), cut into thinly sliced rounds
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • “Fancy” seasoning (I used just a little Tony Chachere’s but my friend uses an Italian blend; anything will be good!)

Place the butter into your baking dish (any size that’s big enough for your shrimp) and place into oven.  Preheat to 350 degrees.  When oven is preheated and butter is melted, remove dish and line the bottom with the lemon slices.  Place shrimp in an even layer on top of the lemons and season.  Bake for 15 minutes.  

Chef’s note: these are delicious straight out of the oven, but they’re also yummy if you serve them cold the next day, like on a salad.  I recommend a yummy veggie for a side, like lazy girl asparagus.

You might have noticed I forgot to put my butter in the dish as the oven was preheating, so if you are forgetful like me, just know it turns out okay if you melt the butter after you’ve already put the lemons in the dish.

This entry was posted in See Jane Eat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to lazy girl shrimp

  1. Elisa says:

    Thank’s for sharing this recipe…I really love shrimps especially in my salad or with pasta ;)

    I’m gonna try this out – for sure!

    <3 Elisa

  2. Rachel says:

    This looks delicious, thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

