Those Pesky Resolutions

Happy Tuesday y’all!  How are those pesky new year’s resolutions going for everyone?  

(image via Dear Lizzy)

This is around the time when I give up on mine, that is, if I made any to begin with.  However, this is a new year and I’m turning over a new leaf!  At least temporarily.  This year I resolved to:

  • buy higher quality makeup
  • drink more water
  • work out at least 3 times a week
  • eat healthier, starting with a detox month of no carbs or dairy (yikes!)

I haven’t quite perfected any of these goals, but here’s how it’s going…

Buy better makeup.  This resolution arose from my constant dissatisfaction with all the different products I was buying from the drugstore.  I came to realize that in order to find the quality I’m looking for, I might have to spend more than $10.  Although it might be more expensive, this stuff is going on my face, something people look at all day and something I have to like with for the rest of my life, so I might as well get something better.  So, at the end of December I made a list of the makeup I use most often and went on the hunt for an upgrade to each product.  Originally I thought I would just go crazy and upgrade to only Bobbi Brown or Laura Mercier products… and then I started looking at the prices.  There was no way I could replace each product with one from these name brands on my budget, so I started researching the beauty blogs and came up with the following list.  I was happily surprised that not all quality makeup costs an arm and a leg!

1.  Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Eye Shadow ($13 in drugstores).  This one was not an upgrade.  I’ve used this for years and decided to stick with it because I love it so much.  It’s so easy to apply and lasts forever.  The only reason I’m about to have to buy a new on is because the brick broke and it’s making a huge mess in my makeup bag.

2.  L’Oreal Voluminous Mascara ($6 in drugstores).  Like I said, I couldn’t afford to go ultra-pricey with each product, so when I read that E! makeup artist Kat Connelly recommended this mascara (bought in drugstores!) I had to get it.  I’ve really liked it so far too.  No flakes or smudges and very long lasting.  Much better than my previous which left me raccoon-eyed by 3:30.

3.  Milani’s LIQUIF EYE Metallic Eyeliner Pencil ($8 in drugstores).  Another one of Kat’s recommendations.  I haven’t bought it yet because I’m pretty happy with Cover Girl Perfect Point Plus, but if I happen to come across it, I probably won’t be able to help myself since it’s metallic!

4.  Lipstick Queen Medieval ($20 at Anthropolgie).  If you’ll remember, I don’t usually wear anything besides Chapstick (the blue kind) but this looked like something I could be interested in.  According to my girl Giuliana Rancic, it’s a “sheer, universally flattering lip color that’s jam packed with Vitamin E.”  Haven’t gotten it yet, but I know I’ll be in Anthropologie again soon.

5.  Ulta Fabulous Face Foundation Primer ($12.50).  I saw rave reviews almost everywhere for Laura Mercier’s Foundation Primer and Smashbox’s Photo Finnish Foundation Primer, but both are $30+ and primer is not something I use everyday.  I found the Ulta brand and read the reviews, several of which compared it to the previously mentioned fancy brands, so I was convinced it was at least worth a try.  The Birmingham Ulta is not the least bit convenient to my house so I will have to make a special trip for it and keep y’all posted on the results.

6.  Sonia Kashuk Radiant Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 15 ($13 at Target stores).  I was looking for an alternative to a heavier foundation that I could wear everyday (that didn’t cost as much as Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer, $30) and found the ultimate endorsement (Oprah!) for Sonia Kashuk’s so I drove myself to Target right away.  I think I’ve worn it everyday since because it’s so wonderful!

7.  Make Up For Ever Lift Concealer ($22 at Sephora).  Concealer and foundation were the two items I was truly ok spending the big(er) bucks on because they do the most work for me.  I saw this  recommended by Giuliana as a remedy for dark circles and then again by Giuliana’s makeup artist Catalina Su over on her blog so I was sold.  I legitimately notice a difference from the el cheapo drugstore brand I previously used and I love that a little goes such a long way!

8.  Cover Girl Classic Color Blush ($5.50 in drugstores).  Another non-upgrade.  This stuff is perfection!  I’ve been using the Rose Silk shade forever and I just can’t say enough good things about it.

9.  Bobbi Brown Luminous Moisturizing Foundation ($46 at Sephora).  I decided on this product based on people I know actually telling me that they like it.  Because I bought the Sonia Kashuk tinted moisturizer first, I didn’t run right out to get this, but I still think I will because sometimes a girl just needs something a little more heavy duty.

10.  Sally Hansen Truly Translucent Loose Powder ($12.50).  This powder is part of Sally Hansen’s Natural Beauty line used by Carmindy, one of the makeup artists on TLC’s What Not to Wear.  Every time I watch that show I think to myself “Whoa, they really have their work cut out for themselves with this girl.  I just don’t see how they can do it this time.”  And then they meet with Carmindy, she puts this powder on their face, and they look like a freakin’ supermodel!  That was enough proof for me right there, but then I used it and it spoke for itself.  Love!

Makeup bag with all my new goodies in it. By the way, yes that is Vaseline you see there.  It is the best thing for stubborn eye makeup removal!

Drink more water.  I got in a bad habit of only drinking water during meals, which amounted to maybe 16 oz. twice a day.  That’s only half of what you’re supposed to get so I knew I had to figure out some other way to make myself drink more.  My approach to this resolution was not nearly as methodical as the one before, but it seems to be working.  I got a 24 oz. Tervis Tumbler for Christmas and vowed to take it to work along with fresh lemons.  I don’t know what it is about the fresh lemon wedge in each class but now I’m chugging down 3 or more of these plus the water at meals.  I’m not so good on weekends but 5 out of 7 days a week is a good start!

The daily drink.

Work out at least 3 times a week.  I’m not going to lie.  I haven’t even tried to start doing this yet.  I bought new shoes though!  The old ones were beat.  That’s an important first step, right?  Maybe I’ll start this week…

New pink and grey Asics from DSW.

Eat healthier (starting with one month detox without dairy or carbs).  What was I thinking!?  This has been SO HARD!  Wait a second.  I do actually know what I was thinking.  I couldn’t stop thinking it from Thanksgiving ’til New Years: “Oh my gosh I am so full, but all of this food is so good I just can’t stop eating!  The only way I can let myself eat another bite is if I detox in January!”  I told myself that all last month and then, when January 3 rolled around, to my surprise I actually started doing it.  It’s been terrible.  People on a diet like this who tell you it’s not are flat out lying or superhuman.  It’s not that I don’t like eating a dinner of grilled salmon and steamed veggies (it’s delicious actually) it’s that my brain won’t stop thinking about macaroni and cheese and cheese dip and garlic bread and pasta (see a theme here?) every other time of the day!  I’ve cheated during 4 meals so far (weekend dinners and snacks at the BCS National Championship watch party) but if I keep planning my meals and grocery shopping in advance, I think I’ll get better at sticking to it and maybe make it through the end of the month.  There’s no way I could eat like this forever, but my hope is to make myself more conscious about dairy and carbs in  effort to eat less in the future and, of course, try to counterbalance all of the holiday chowdowns from last month.  

So what it the point of this massive over-share of a post?  It’s definitely not to brag (heck it’s not like I climbed Mount Everest or anything).  The point is encouragement!!  If I, a seriously serial procrastinator, carb addict, and cheapskate thrify gal, can make some headway with my resolutions, so can you!  I know it’s only been a week, but for me the first part of something like this is always the hardest.  Sure I haven’t bought all the make up on the list or had 8 glasses of water every single day.  And yes I cheated with the detox and haven’t even started running.  But that’s the kind of stuff we all go through and it  doesn’t mean failure and it definitely doesn’t mean we should give up all together!  There’s a whole year to try and get it right (or start all over again) and a little effort is better than none.

(Image via mixtapes & cupcakes)

I’d love to hear your resolutions and your success (or almost-success) stories so feel free to leave a comment!  Have a super motivated day!

This entry was posted in From Jane, Jane's Finds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Those Pesky Resolutions

  1. Caroline says:

    Loved this post!! I’m thinking of adding a foundation/tinted moisturizer to my routine so I might have to try the Sonia Kashuk and maybe even the Bobbi Brown. I do LOVE all the BB products I have. Also, I use this concealer and I really think it’s magic. It stays put all day long and blends so flawlessly and never flakes, even on zits. Kind of pricey but I wear it every day and it lasts about 6 months so… http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P242203&categoryId=S10820&shouldPaginate=true

    Something to think about if you’re thinking of getting a serious concealer!

  2. Thanks Caroline! I might just have to try that once the Make Up For Ever concealer I already have runs out!

  3. Pingback: I’m Not Big on New Year’s Resolutions « Between Your Ears

  4. Pingback: 1.13.12 Snapshots & Shares | Jane About Town

  5. Pingback: 1.13.12 Shares & Snapshots | Jane About Town

Leave a Reply

