L.L. Bean: Something Old, Something New

I know L.L. Bean has a bad reputation for selling mom clothes and hunting gear, but I’m here to set the record straight.  I love L.L. Bean.  Granted, I’d probably never buy a pair of jeans or a going-out outfit from them, but they have always been a go-to for several of my cold weather staples and urban outdoor adventure gear.  For example, this year my L.L. Bean wishlist consists of the following classic Bean items:

Quilted Riding Jacket, Short ($109).  This is such a steal compared to the Burberry version that costs $495!

Rubber Moc Bean Boots ($69).  The ultimate L.L. Bean staple… I’ve just got to get this in my closet!

Outdoor Travel Vest ($79).  I’m not sure I could get away with wearing this when not fishing or hunting, but I don’t care!  It just makes me want to cozy up by a campfire and drink some hot chocolate (with Kahlua of course).

If you still think these classics are too mom-like or outdoorsy, check out these pretties from the L.L. Bean Signature line.  I had no idea L.L. Bean was getting so fancy.  I love it!

Heritage Metallic Tote ($189).  Just like everything else L.L. Bean makes, I’m sure this simple chic tote would last forever.

Donegal Tweed Dress ($225).  Can you say classic?

Stow Wool Ankle Boot ($189).  Classic with a modern twist.

Alright, last but not least (and I know I’m verging on L.L. Bean overload here) I want to share these amazing photos I found in the Life photo archives of the early years of L.L. Bean (the man and the store).  All were taken by George Strock at the factory in Freeport, Maine in 1941.  

(L) Rubber drying on soles of hunting shoes
(R) L.L. Bean’s famous Maine hunting shoes (Bean boots) lined up by size from 6.5 to 18″.  Top of elk leather with rubber sole

(L) Man in deer hunting outfit (red and black checked hat, coat, shirt, pants with heavy socks, boots and gun 
(R) Rubber overshoes

(L) L.L. Bean offices in Freeport, Maine above the post office
(R) Leon Leonwood (L.L.) Bean with grandsons 

Well, that’s all I’ve got.  I hope I shattered some stereotypes today!

This entry was posted in See Jane Wear and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to L.L. Bean: Something Old, Something New

  1. Land’s End Canvas is one of my personal favorites! Affordable and so cute for preppy styles!

  2. Jane says:

    never would have known! they have some awesomely cute stuff right now… on sale! thanks for the tip :)

Leave a Reply

