Almost-Too-Easy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Or, if you prefer, “the Lazy Girl Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie.”  They only have three ingredients, y’all.  Count ’em. One. Two. Three.

Let’s do it.  You will need:

  • 1 15 oz. can pumpkin
  • 1 box spice cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips 



You don’t even need the chocolate chips.  I think they would be perfectly delicious without them, but then again, why would you do that?  Anyway, here’s how you make them.  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Mix everything together in a large mixing bowl.


Spoon onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  If you don’t have parchment paper, a lightly greased sheet will be fine but I would seriously recommend investing in the parchment paper.  I only started using it a few months ago and it’s been a baking life-changer.  Nothing sticks.


Stick them in the oven for about 10-15 minutes, depending on how big your spoonfuls are.  I got a little over zealous with my spoonfuls, so the baking time was probably closer to 20 minutes.  Just poke them each time you check and take them out when they don’t feel too doughy anymore.  They’re tough cookies (pun intended).

Hooray, you’re done!  Now go eat. 


Feelin’ fancy? Change it up a little!

Option 1:  If you prefer a much sweeter cookie, you could add 1/4 cup brown sugar, but I was very happy with the way mine turned out without it.  I feel like the cake mix sweetens it enough.  And I can convince myself it’s a health/breakfast food if I don’t add extra sugar.

Option 2:  Frost with cream cheese frosting.  I definitely chose this option.  Technically it’s a 4th ingredient, but it is well worth it.  If you have the will power, try to avoid eating it straight from the can after you frost your cookie.  I skipped that part.

Happy Friday!
This entry was posted in See Jane Eat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Almost-Too-Easy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Nelli says:

    Is that H R taking a bite?

  2. Pingback: Sea Salt & Brown Butter Rice Krispie Treats | Jane About Town

Leave a Reply

